sbooknoob.blogg.se

Best way to install python on mac
Best way to install python on mac




  1. BEST WAY TO INSTALL PYTHON ON MAC HOW TO
  2. BEST WAY TO INSTALL PYTHON ON MAC MAC OS X

Yes, Python will work with more than one library location: one controlled by MacPorts and a user local one for everything missing within MacPorts. That will build an extra Python library in your home dir. ( make sure you always type pip-(version) ) For example, recently I needed the Elixir module, but MacPorts only offers py25-elixir and py26-elixir, no py27 version. I do not believe that MacPorts will ever give you the whole CheeseShop. As soon as you want a Python package that needs a library used by non Python programs, try to avoid easy_install or pipĪt some point you will find that there are some packages missing within MacPorts. There is no way I would build my Qt bindings (PySide) with easy_install or pip.

best way to install python on mac

Like any other high level package manager (ie: apt-get) it is much better for the heavy lifting of modules with lots of binary dependencies. I personally let MacPorts handle my Python modules to keep everything updated. Furthermore it will always be more up to date and with more packages

BEST WAY TO INSTALL PYTHON ON MAC HOW TO

MacPorts is only portable within Mac, but with easy_install or pip you will learn how to setup your environment in any platform (Win/Mac/Linux/Bsd.). Just move out your /opt folder and test your packages with a normal user Python environment

best way to install python on mac

BEST WAY TO INSTALL PYTHON ON MAC MAC OS X

Most people I know use HomeBrew or MacPorts, I prefer MacPorts because of its clean cut of what is a default Mac OS X environment and my development setup. Your question is already three years old and there are some details not covered in other answers: Regarding which python to use, sticking with Apple's python will give you the least headaches, but If you need a newer version (Leopard is 2.5.1 I believe), I would go with the macports python 2.6. It will allow you to have completely different versions of various packages, and switch between them easily depending your needs. If you do a lot of python development on projects with conflicting package requirements, virtualenv is a godsend. Really the only time use need to use easy_install is for this command: easy_install pipĪt some point you will probably want to learn a bit about virtualenv. Pip uses the same package repository as easy_install, it just works better. Have a look around to see what packages are available.Ī better option is pip, which is gaining traction, as it attempts to fix a lot of the problems associated with easy_install. Use it like this: easy_install djangoĮasy_install uses the Python Package Index which is an amazing resource for python developers. It is probably already installed on your system. The most popular way to manage python packages (if you're not using your system package manager) is to use setuptools and easy_install. So, I was wondering, what is the method that Mac python developers use to manage their modules?ĭo you use Apple's python, or some other version?ĭo you compile everything from source or is there a package manger that works well (Fink?). I'd like to start fresh using a more "accepted" (if that's the right word) approach. I get the impression that Macports isn't universally loved for managing python modules. Nothing has really worked and at this point I'm not really understanding, instead I'm just poking around. I've spent some time playing around with PATH settings and using python_select. However, I'm finding that most of the python modules I install with it are not being seen by python. On the Mac, I'm used to using Macports to install all the Unixy stuff.

best way to install python on mac

I'm finding that on Linux (Ubuntu 9.04 mostly) when I install a python module using apt-get it works fine. I'm starting to learn python and loving it.






Best way to install python on mac